In Me

There’s something in that small town
In the blood coursing through their veins
There’s something in the way they live
In me that still remains

I tried to hide, to run far away
Pretend I would never be
One of them or one of those
Who felt lesser comparatively

Except, them was not the whole town
It was within familiar walls
That they from whom I was running
Took shelter from life’s falls

And no amount of distance
No box put on a shelf
Could allow me to run quite far enough
Away from myself

2 thoughts on “In Me

Leave a Reply

