Some Days

Some days, life’s talons dig in,
Ripping and tearing at my flesh,
My fingers clinging, clawing 
At the dirt, as I try to remain

Here, now 

Some days, I need him to
Help me cling and claw,
Allow me to sink into the sharpness,
To meet force with equal force 

Some days, I need the pain,
I need the snug, prickly roughness,
I need to gasp, twist, clench, 
I need the lashes of scorching heat

And the raised welts that remain

I need to hold my breath 
Until my head hurts 
And wonder if the next strike 
Will make me say the word 

I need to hover and flirt 
With the spiny threshold,
And then cross it, not tip-toeing,
But leaping in a silent scream

Some days, the talons’ grip wanes 
As the pain is the pleasure, 
the pleasure is the pain 
is the pleasure
is the pain
is pleasure
pain
is
me

And I can see
I can be

Now

6 thoughts on “Some Days

  1. I read this out loud to Professor. Before I had a chance to comment further, he looked at me and said, “You can really relate to that, can’t you?” He was completely correct, I can. Thank you for putting it into such beautiful words.

Leave a Reply

