Even 

even in his sleep,
his arm lifts as soon
as mine begins its
slide beneath his,
seeking his heat and security

even as I sleep, when I turn
to the other side, he follows to cradle me, hand traveling up my body, coming to rest around my neck, arm draping over mine

for a moment, his fingers
slowly trace the length
of my neck to my hairline,
sliding into my hair to grab
a handful, resting his fist

after a few exhales
have passed,
his hand slowly
resumes it’s place
around my neck

even in sleep, I am his

21 thoughts on “Even 

  1. I love this one so much. We do the same thing. It’s kind of an unconscious dance that even our sleep we reach for each other.

Leave a Reply

