Humor Language

We laugh a lot, my husband and I. Our laughter is part of the glue that has held us together for more than 22 years, even through the toughest of times. Honestly, we are probably more childish than we have a right to be, laughing at things that probably shouldn’t be funny anymore. But, they are. Every day.

My husband is quick and witty and I frequently laugh so hard I cry. He is silly and irreverent. So am I! He makes fun of me all the time, but I’m a good sport. And, I dish it right back.

Our humor spills into the bedroom, too. It should, really, because inhibitions are so silly at this point for us. Last night, we laughed far too hard for far too long about Goulash. Don’t ask! But I was reminded of some of the other silly things we’ve said or done in the recent past.

– He asked me if his hand felt better over or under. Instantly, I thought of Airplane 2, the movie. Oveur, Unger and Dunn, in the cockpit (hehe). So, I began reciting some of the dialogue and he chimed in until we were giggling fiercely. It goes like this:
‘Simon: Captain, your navigator, Mr. Unger, and your first officer Mr. Dunn.

Clarence Oveur: Unger.

Unger: Oveur.

Dunn: Oveur.

Clarence Oveur: Dunn. Gentlemen, let’s get to work.

Simon: Unger, didn’t you serve Oveur in the Air Force?

Unger: Not directly. Technically, Dunn was under Oveur and I was under Dunn.

Dunn: Yep.

Simon: So, Dunn you were under Oveur and over Unger.

Unger: Yep.

Clarence Oveur: That’s right. Dunn was over Unger, and I was over Dunn.

Unger: So you see, both Dunn and I were under Oveur, even though I was under Dunn.

Clarence Oveur: Dunn was over Unger, and I was over Dunn.’

His hand felt better Unger until I was Dunn.

– I was sitting at his feet after my shower and he was stroking my hair, then moving downward with his hands. His knees were crossed, so I was leaning back on one of them, loving the attention. I asked if I could go to bed, hinting that I wanted him to take me to bed. He said, “How many knees do you need? You’re on my knee already, now you just want my heiny and my weenie, too.”

It’s true, I did.

– Just after sex one night, he looked me in the eyes and said, “Rada, rada.” Anyone who has seen the gawdawful cartoon, Chowder, will know how ridiculous this is, but we laughed, hysterically.

What is Schnitzel anyway?

– My sex drive has dramatically increased over the years. He said to me, after sex one night, that he hoped I didn’t have something wrong with me like in the movie Phenomenon. You know, like some brain disorder that heightened my sex drive exponentially until I died or it vanished. Morbid, but funny and endearing in a twisted sort of way.

I laughed.

– He used my body parts as a one man band. To Blink 182, The Rock Show. That song actually played while I was having sex. I’m not proud, but I did laugh uncontrollably.

– Once, he spanked me with the spaghetti strainer. Yes, that semi-circular tool with the holes in it. Why? Who knows. But, during the first few spanks, I heard him giggle under his breath a little. Usually, it’s me laughing inappropriately during a spanking. I didn’t say anything at the time, but after the spanking, my butt looked just like that damn spaghetti strainer, circles and all.

We threw it away, but I giggle every single time I strain the noodles, now.

– Pancake spatula. Same as above. I don’t know why, maybe spanking makes him hungry? Anyway, flipping pancakes = giggles at my house. Every. Single. Time.

I think humor has languages, just like love. You either speak the other’s humor language or you don’t; you either get the other’s sense of humor or you don’t. For me, that’s a deal breaker.

My husband and I, we speak the exact same humor language. In fact, it was a deal maker! We do it so well, that often times a look is all that’s necessary to make a connection, to get what the other is thinking. I think that’s gotten better with age, just like the sex. Sometimes at the same time.

12 thoughts on “Humor Language

  1. I love this so much! We laugh all the time, too. At everything, nothing, inappropriate things, and times. I cannot imagine my life without all the laughter – the crying, snorting, ridiculous laughter. Enjoyed this post, I did! 🙂

    • Thank you, Shy! That’s awesome! I can’t imagine my life without it either. I imagine we won’t ever have to! And that’s the best part, isn’t it?!?

Leave a Reply

