The Infinite Playlist

Some time ago, as I sat at M’s feet, he put some music on, one of his favorite playlists. I’ve heard it many times before, but this night it was much more than just listening to music in the background.

As we listened to a few songs and talked about our days, a particular song came on, and I described to M an exact moment I remember that song being played, a happy, romantic moment from long, long ago. Yet, it doesn’t seem like so long ago! It was so lucid – I remembered what we were wearing, how the candles were lit, and our surroundings. I remembered how he touched me and how his body felt against mine as we danced. And the words he said, I’ll never forget those.

Lying his iPad on the living room floor, M pulled me down to lie with him. That’s when he told me something that melted my heart……this playlist, his favorite, is one he created with all the songs that remind him of us. Of specific times and places and things we’ve done together, over the past 21 years.

We scrolled through that playlist and relived our history, surprising one another with some of the tiniest of details in our rembrances. The design on the blanket we laid upon. The time, stuck and blinking on the clock, the smell of the flowers in the air, the spoken words of a stranger next to us. We felt as we felt, we saw as we saw, experiencing all those moments again, and again, together.

M and I love music. It is more than just words and sound; music marks the passage of time. It’s alive that way – it can take us on a journey, keeping vivid  bits of our histories, preserving them so purely. Each lyric and melody evoking a response from all of our senses. Summoning emotion, sometimes so strong it’s difficult to listen. Inspiring strength and planting seeds of hope.

Every playlist is a song after a song, but it’s also a memory after a memory. An endless reel of reminiscence and aspiration.

You want to know the best part? Every day, we are creating a new playlist. And I get to keep making them with my soulmate.

Rock on.

*A spruced up oldie, as I sit here making a new ‘us’ playlist.

29 thoughts on “The Infinite Playlist

  1. What a lovely way to keep memories alive. We too have special songs that when they come on we stop what we are doing and remember.

  2. Kay, this is perhaps the sweetest post I have ever read. All I could think was “aaawww, how that must have touched her heart to know that!” May yours and M’s playlist never stop growing and may you forever dance to the beat of each others heart.

  3. Love love love!! You know feel this way about music and so does my Sir. I love surprise, sweet moments like what you’ve described. (We make playlists like this as well). Anyway, fabulous post and just what I needed to read right now. ❤

  4. Oh Sister of mine, this is precious to me. It’s one of the many things that drew me to your spirit day one. You know my love of music and how deeply it is woven into our daily lives. It’s part of our fabric.

    It is exactly as you have painted with such beautiful words – we are whisked away to a day long ago. Every song a history book.

    I love this, Kay ❤ Thanks for sharing.

  5. Music always strengthens U/us, and serves as paint to His brush on O/our canvas. Thank you for a shared reminder. 💜

Leave a Reply

