Ordinary

wear me like your favorite sweatshirt 
fraying from everyday comfort

lead me out into the morning light
let me fade in the summer sun

take me to sit in the trickling stream 
eroding in the vibrant current

allow me to dry slowly in the midnight breeze
capturing the earthy scent

I can’t think of a better way
to spend my days

I have no need for pristine
for starched or glamorous 
or scheduled maintenance 

give me laugh lines and crows feet
dirty soles and wind blown hair
flip flop tan lines and Popsicle lips

give me salt of the earth
for I am proudly a grain

orninary
feeling extraordinary 

-image credit commons.wikimedia.org

30 thoughts on “Ordinary

Leave a Reply

