Invasion

pitter patter
clack-clicking
‘cross the floor
evil tricking

teeth gnawing
scratching incessant 
can’t be still
another second

chasing silent
am I crazy?
did I just hear it?
my head is hazy 

waiting game
tickety-tock
round and round and round
the clock

upon the ceiling 
in the walls
fast and furious
down the halls

tiny monsters
sharp and hairy
invading, invading
my sanctuary

GET OUT, GET OUT
PLEASE, GO AWAY
YOU’RE ALL I HEAR
EVERY MINUTE OF THE DAY

I thought you’d vanished
welcome back…
aren’t you famished?
how ’bout a snack?


~Image credits animalplanet.com and dreamstime.com, respectively 

26 thoughts on “Invasion

  1. Oh, I was thinking bugs of some sort! They are far more insidious and difficult to get rid of. Nevertheless, I feel your pain. And I ask myself why I keep my good for nothing cat!

    • Ahhhhh!!! I swear I heard one in the wall Saturday night, which means I was up most of the night Sunday freaking out at every damn noise, lol. I think I heard him trapped and dying…..because I haven’t heard him since. Thank God. Freaked me out, though. Not the end of the world, but they are nightmarish creatures.

Leave a Reply

