When I Write…


I am alive when I write.

When I write, I’m a butcher. I dissect my thoughts and feelings, I carve until I pinpoint my motivations, I find my truths. 

When I write, I’m a baker. I take those dissections, those thoughts, feelings, and truths, and I whisk them together into words, into phrases, and sentences, paragraphs and stanzas. I pour my creations into forms and watch them transform. I share them with you.

When I write, I’m a candlestick maker. Whether those creations are reflections on the past, ruminations on or celebrations of the present, or hopes for the future, they are intended to be a beacon of light burning to forge the way for the future, for me and for others to follow. 

When I write, I am me. I take my essence and I weave it into words. I crack open my ribcage and invite you in. I welcome you. I need you.

When I write, I am alive. 

-image credit couldronsandcupsakes.com

36 thoughts on “When I Write…

    • Me too. I used to write everywhere. In margins, notebooks, scrap papers. Then in my young adulthood, I just stopped. The level of over-fullness I experienced for many years is indescribable. I had such difficult processing anything because I didn’t do it in words, in writing. A few years ago, I’d began to verbally share my processing with M, but it was just coming so fast, I needed more. I started writing again, and it has been like a flood gate opened ever since. It almost gets worse…the more I write, the more I want to write! And it’s scattered, not just one form. It’s poetry and prose of all kinds. Reflective pieces, emotional dumpy things, you name it. But it’s every. Single. Day.

Leave a Reply

