I Wish…

I see you here most days;
I hope to

I seem to have made it a habit,
coffee, and you

there you sit,
legs crossed, in your well-worn
gray Woodstock t-shirt, 
sipping your coffee,
mindlessly scrolling through your phone, 
in no hurry

every now and then, you look up to stare,
at everything and nothing at all,
an easy smile for any passer by, 
a quiet confidence, 
a contentment that’s contagious

and your eyes, oh God, 
your warm, deep green eyes with tiny orange flecks,
remind me of how it used to feel sitting beneath my favorite willow tree on sleepy summer nights

I want to know your name,
I want to feel it roll off my tongue, 
a sound as familiar and comfortable 
as my favorite, cozy sweatshirt

I want to know what you like for breakfast and how you take your tea,
I want to know when you’re afraid 
and when you’re too tired to sleep

I want to recognize your laugh 
from across the room,
feel your eyes on me without even 
having to look

I want to know you

I see you,
and I wish you’d see me, too

-image credit Pinterest, poem inspired by image

28 thoughts on “I Wish…

  1. Beautiful! The desire to know, the self-restraint to merely observe – a fine balance. So nicely captured here, thank you!

Leave a Reply

