Can’t Look Up

Every night, I search for you,
Along the Milky Way,
Chin upturned, as my heart yearns,
So many miles away

Last night, I wondered, if I’d feel you there,
If you were gazing too,
If our spirits could share, way up there,
Amidst the brilliant blue

But while I gazed, connecting dots,
The picture grew much clearer,
Stomach whirling, a cosmic unfurling,
I realized why you’re not nearer

For, I am not the one you want,
And the stars have lost their shine,
Now, I can’t look up, because all I see,
Is your heart inside of mine

-image found on Pinterest; not indicative of any personal experience Β 

25 thoughts on “Can’t Look Up

  1. A beautiful but sad poem. I’m glad it’s not personal experience! We all have to add disclaimers to this kind of writing! Or else the WordPress family gets to worrying! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

