Pedestals

img_5321

Asking M to dive into this journey with me was one of the most frightening things I’ve ever done. It felt like I was running, leaping off a cliff. Except, there he was listening. Trying his best to understand and absorb what I was saying, looking at me with no judgement whatsoever. There he was, leaping with me.

We leapt, together. I, with a soul in an uproar, trying to find center, to shed and get back to who I am, and move forward to who I wanted to be. Leaning on him was frightening, but necessary. Along with all the internal challenging I was doing, was a growing vision of what we could be as we grew. Especially since we felt so at home, and were thriving in this environment of constant and deep communication, of evolution.

As we dove, I was guilty of wishing for us to feel a certain way – he the dominant who took the reins easily and with few hiccups. It was easy to overlook the fact that M was traveling a journey of his own as well, in his own way, on his own time. I put him on a pedestal and expected him to be superhuman. That wasn’t clear to me until longer than I care to admit. I don’t mean the kind of pedestal on which one places a sacred love that you wish to elevate, hold closely, and protect. I mean the kind where there are rose colored glasses and expectations as tall as skyscrapers. The kind that is selfish.

No matter how much I wanted to believe I wasn’t expecting M to be someone he’s not, or grow and flourish at my speed, that pedestal allowed me to expect and hope for things that weren’t fair to expect or hope for. He is who he is, and just because I envisioned this didn’t mean it would look this way. And the most horrible part about putting him on that sort of pedestal, was that sooner or later he was bound to do something that would knock him off. He is human…and I wasn’t expecting him to be, or I was expecting him to be the same kind of human as me. Neither was okay.

The worst part is that when he would fall, I’d have trouble with that, because I wanted him to behave another way, to understand this way or that. To just know. To want the same things as me in the same ways and make that happen.

I won’t lie and say I don’t sometimes still catch myself doing it, because I do. But these days I do know nothing is ever how we envision it, and the best way to develop realistic expectations is to communicate, trust, be patient, and open my damn eyes to see what is right in front of me. I love what I see.

He is who he is, we are who we are, and it’s nothing like I once envisioned. And I’m ridiculously happy with that.

14 thoughts on “Pedestals

  1. I can understand this from both perspectives. It’s a tough place to be and great for both of you that you’re seeing that now. Please be gentle with you, at least you saw it so you could change it. ❤️😊

    • I saw it a long while ago, but am just getting around to writing about it. Had a stumble and realization a few months ago, so it was fresher in my mind, and something I think about from time to time as a reminder and avoidance of pitfalls. Thank you! I am actually being gentle! I’m doing a much better job these days of going with the flow and listening to what I need, too. I’ve recently begun to detoxify my body as well, and tey to do a better job of unifying mind and body. M too. It’s such a wonderful process and sharing it makes it even better!

  2. As with so many of your posts, I can definitely to relate to this and know that I have been guilty of doing this at times too. I think that I am getting better with it but this was a timely reminder for me. Thank you so much for sharing 😊

Leave a Reply

